My Dad’s Death

We are coming up on the anniversary of my Dad’s passing. He died last year, September 18th 2015. He was battling cancer, it was terminal but his prognosis was that he had a few years left. He came and visited me from St. Louis a week before he started his chemo-therapy. He looked so well and we had a great time, he was the same with me as he had been before he got sick. We both said our goodbyes and that we look forward to seeing each other again.

It was the last time I ever saw him.

It wasn’t the cancer that ended his life on Earth but a heart attack. It was shocking and extremely painful for all of us, his new wife who he had married just a few years prior. My Uncle and Aunt were very close to their brother. It didn’t make any sense, God is the ultimate healer, we prayed for a miracle and he abruptly dies before we were all ready?

I was angry with God, I lashed out on him. I didn’t understand how this could happen, so sudden.

But we must remember God is in control of the big picture, he did however give us free will to live our lives. Tragedy will occur but God will be with you in your highest highs and your lowest lows. Call on him to help you deal with your pain. Time on earth is a blink of an eye compared to eternity.

After my anger subsided I asked for forgiveness and prayed for wisdom to understand.

Then I remembered we didn’t just pray for a miracle but for my Dad to no longer suffer. God granted that wish. You see my Dad was struggling very much with the chemo, he was in horrible pain and the doctors were at a loss on how to help him. Then one day he was in the dining room, eating dinner with his dog next to his side, when it happened. He had a heart attack and a couple days later went with the Lord. No more pain, no more suffering.

God gave me that last visit with my Dad, he was exactly how he had always been when it was just us. I realized that it was all part of God’s perfect plan.

I stand by what I said, I still look forward to seeing my Dad again and I will see him, along with the Father and his Son.

Have a blessed Week
-Chris

Leave a comment